Shootings in Paris

As I’m sure most people have heard, yesterday, a man in Paris has fired two shots at a assistant photographer at the newspaper Liberation. The victim is in critical condition at a nearby hospital but it has been reported this morning that he is looking better than yesterday. 

The suspect is still at large in Paris today. He was last seen near the Champs Elysée and it has been assumed by police to have got on the Metro at the station George V. It has been rumoured that the man has live grenades on him. 

As a small town girl I am not prepared for situations like this! I have stayed home today just to be extra safe but I would like to go out this evening. Is it safe to go out to the pub near Chatelet-Les Halles this evening? I know this is the biggest Metro/Subway/Tube station in the world so I assume there are lots of police stationed there. I have read shootings are very rare in this city and BBC news has reported Paris as being a ‘Panicked’ city yesterday evening and this morning but knowing how causal the french are with there Gallic shrugs I can’t imagine that much panic!

To all my aupair friends, stay safe until he is apprehended!

Stay safe to everyone who may be in Paris this week.   

Leave a comment